Commenting login:
  • Log-in Edit profile
  • Register Logout

WIAA approves 5-division hoops format

The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association voted unanimously to institute a five-division format in the basketball postseason, a format that will take hold next season.

The new arrangement is not good news for some of the state's biggest schools, including last year's boys champion, Arrowhead. Schools with an enrollment of 1,200 or above will now see the number of state-tournament qualifiers reduced from eight to four, with each of the newly-created five divisions represented equally.

Traditionally-strong Pewaukee boys basketball, which already has a rugged path to the state tournament in boys hoops, will likely see the addition of talented programs such as Milwauke Washington, Nicolet, Wauwatosa East and Milwaukee Pius -- previously Division 1 schools -- to its sectional. Pewaukee's sectional already includes defending state champion Catholic Memorial, New Berlin Eisenhower, Wisconsin Lutheran and Whitefish Bay.

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Page Tools