Commenting login:
  • Log-in Edit profile
  • Register Logout

Regional wrestling roundup: Arrowhead rallies

After trailing deep into the final matches of Saturday's WIAA wrestling regional at Hamilton, Arrowhead finished with just enough to rally past Hartford for the regional title by 1.5 points.

Brad Fisher recorded a pin in the fourth-place match at 285 pounds, good for four additional team points (2 for pin, 2 for additional place-finish) and giving the Warhawks 232 on the day. The Orioles, which entered the regional as the top challenge to Arrowhead, concluded with 230.5.

Top-four finishers in each weight class advanced to next Saturday's individual sectional, but the team champion also advanced to Tuesday's team sectional dual at Homestead. The Warhawks will battle West Allis Central, with the winner advancing to the team state meet in Madison, beginning March 5.

Mukwonago and Pewaukee also emerged with sectional championships and will compete Tuesday. The Pirates, which easily took first in their own sectional, will need to win two matches at Whitewater, with Campbellsport as the first opponent. The Indians, winners of the Watertown sectional, will battle Muskego at Elkhorn. Full local individual qualifiers follow:

Arrowhead regional champions (at Hamilton) -- Jake Sueflohn (135), Al Yde (160), Shane Hughes (171)

Mukwoango regional champions (at Watertown) -- Hank Mattson (119), Ryan Aprahamian (152), Damon King (189), Tyler Ladwig (285)

Kettle Moraine regional champions (at Watertown) -- Daulton Vallesky (103), Dilan White (145), Jacob Laux (215)

Oconomowoc regional champions (at Watertown) -- Zach Mommaerts (125), Taylor Mommaerts (135), Jake Morrison (140)

Pewaukee regional champions (at Pewaukee) -- Max Nonnamaker (112), Mitch Teeters (119), Josh Berg (125), Chris Czech (135), Mike Dusel (145), Travis Decker (171), Kent Girmscheid (215)

Other sectional qualifiers

Arrowhead: Mark Landsgaard (2nd, 103), Andrew Crone (4th, 112), Adam Yde (2nd, 119), Matt Hoffman (2nd, 125), Mitch Berenz (2nd, 130), Jake Nelson (3rd, 140), Spencer Thompson (2nd, 145), Aaron Pomeroy  (3rd, 189), Brad Fisher (4th, heavyweight)

Kettle Moraine: Eric MacFarland (3rd, 135), Simon Villegas (4th, 171), Alex Cochrane (2nd, 285)

Mukwonago: Joe Mattson (2nd, 125), Jordan Treuer (2nd, 125), Tyler Zamzow (2nd, 140), Evan Kolasinski (2nd, 145), Joe Quaglieri (3rd, 171)

Oconomowoc: Lars Anderson (4th, 103), Eric Lease (3rd, 145), Coty Wandersee (4th, 189), Scott Fillmore (3rd, 215)

Pewaukee (top two qualify in D2): Alex Owens (2nd, 103), Gill Saya-ang (2nd, 130), AJ Olivares (2nd, 152), Nathan Knutson (2nd, 160)

Sussex Hamilton (at Hamilton): Hunter Lau (3rd, 103), Loren Hesselgrave (2nd, 112), Phil Flegner (4th, 119), Bobby Holzem (4th, 125), Nick Knoebel (4th, 135), Derek Staffaroni (4th, 140), Mitch August (3rd, 145), Ben Perreault (2nd, 152), Aaron Fiss (2nd, 160), Austin Zillmer (3rd, 171), Dan Thompson (4th, 189), Matt Blackwell (2nd, 215)

This site uses Facebook comments to make it easier for you to contribute. If you see a comment you would like to flag for spam or abuse, click the "x" in the upper right of it. By posting, you agree to our Terms of Use.

Page Tools